The University City Arts League will host “Stories of St. Andrew’s” at 4:00 p.m. on Saturday, March 14th, to mark the closing of “Ci-Lines”, a temporary installation by Aaron Asis inside St. Andrew’s Chapel at 4205 Spruce St. in West Philadelphia.
“Stories of St. Andrew’s” will be an informal gathering for Philadelphians interested in the city’s history. On hand to talk will be Davis d’Ambly, who has worked in the field of liturgical design for over forty years; Michael Krasulski, who compiles the Philadelphia Studies blog of local Episcopal parish archives; and Bob Legani, a member of the last graduating class of the Philadelphia Divinity School in 1974, and a sacristan who prepared the chapel for daily services for three years.
St. Andrew’s was modeled on Oxford’s English Gothic style and built in 1923 by the Philadelphia Divinity School in association with University of Pennsylvania to educate Episcopal priests. It has not been open to the public since 1974. “Ci-Lines,” which will be open one final time on Saturday, March 14 from 12 noon to 4 p.m. presents a rare opportunity to experience the interior of the chapel, which remains locked for most of the year.
“Ci-Lines” received 600 visitors during the weekend it first opened to the public last month. Asis, who was on hand for the opening, was inspired by the stories he heard about the chapel’s past. St. Andrew’s has been shuttered for decades, but there are many who have memories to share. “Stories of St. Andrew’s” is an open call for community members to come together to share their stories of the remarkably beautiful sacred landmark.
“Ci-Lines” is made possible by the generous support of the University City Arts League, Spruce Hill Civic Association, Penn Alexander School HSA, Atkin Olshin Schade Architects, Center for Emerging Visual Artists, Art in the Open, and Lori Waselchuk Photography. The University City Arts League is a non-profit organization dedicated to education and cultural enrichment in the arts.